Sinéad Morrissey

Sinéad Morrissey grew up in Northern Ireland and has served as Belfast’s first Poet Laureate. She has published six collections of poetry to date. Her awards include first place in The Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition with her poem ‘Through the Square Window‘ (2007), a Lannan Literary Fellowship (2007), the T S Eliot Prize (2013), the Forward Poetry Prize for Best Collection (2017), the Irish Times Poetry Prize (2009, 2013) and the E M Forster award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (2016). Having worked for over a decade at the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry in Belfast, she has recently taken up a new position as Chair of Creative Writing at Newcastle University. She was one of two judges of the 2017 Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award.