Helen Dunmore

Helen Dunmore (1952-2017) was the winner of the National Poetry Competition 2009. She was born in Yorkshire and studied at the University of York. She published ten poetry collections, including her last, Inside the Wave (Bloodaxe, 2017). The Malarkey (Bloodaxe, 2012) was named after her National Poetry Competition winning poem. Her second collection, The Sea Skater, won The Poetry Society’s Alice Hunt Bartlett Award; The Raw Garden was a Poetry Book Society Choice, and her collection of poems for children, Secrets, won the Signal Award for Poetry. Bestiary was shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize.

She was also an award-winning novelist and short story writer. Her most recent novel Birdcage Walk was published in March 2017. Her novel, Zennor in Darkness, won the McKitterick Prize, and A Spell of Winter won the inaugural Orange Prize for Fiction. The Siege was shortlisted for both the Orange Prize for Fiction, and the Whitbread Prize for Fiction. Her writing for children includes short stories, novels for older children, including The Ingo Quartet, and poetry. Her published critical work includes introductions to D.H. Lawrence’s novellas, to a selection of short stories by F. Scott Fitzgerald, a selection of poems by Emily Brontë, and introductions to novels by Robert Louis Stevenson, Anita Brookner and Barbara Trapido. Her work has been translated into twenty-five languages. She was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.