Glyn Maxwell

Glyn Maxwell is a poet, playwright, novelist, librettist and critic. In 1994 he was named one of the New Generation poets and he received the E.M. Forster Award in 1997. His three earliest collections of poetry, Tale Of The Mayor’s Son (1990), Out of the Rain (1992) and Rest For The Wicked (1995) are collected as The Boys at Twilight: Poems 1990-1995 (2000). The Nerve won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize in 2004. His other collections – The Breakage, Hide Now and Pluto –have been shortlisted for either the T.S. Eliot, Forward, or Costa (formerly Whitbread) Prizes. His most recent collections are One Thousand Nights and Counting: Selected Poems and Pluto. In 2014 he edited a collected edition of the poems of Derek Walcott, The Poetry of Derek Walcott 1948–2013. His next book of poetry, How The Hell Are You, will be published by Picador in 2020. His plays include The Lifeblood (‘Best Play’, British Theatre Guide, Edinburgh Fringe 2004) and Liberty (Shakespeare’s Globe, 2008). The opera The Firework Maker’s Daughter, for which he wrote the libretto, was nominated for Best New Opera at the Olivier Awards. He was a judge for The Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition 2014.